Book Review-The Conquerer

The Conquerer
de Warren Series
Brenda Joyce
432 Pages
Published Oct 1996
Medieval Romance

Like a pagan god, Rolfe the relentless rode into Castle Aelfgar to claim it as his prize- and Lady Alice as his bride. Lauded for his bravery in France, in England he was the hated enemy. Once ensconced in his new domain, Rolfe became determined to tame the Saxon beauty Ceidre, Alice’s illegitimate sister, whose spirit and sensuality made him risk treason to have her- not Lady Alice- in his bed…

Mysterious and seductive, she was no lady but a spy for the rebel cause of her noble half brothers. Refusing to bow to this arrogant warrior who ignited her forbidden passion, Ceidre was swept into a dangerous liaison tied to the fate of England and kings. Yet with his kisses on her lips, his skillful hands on her body, she would have to struggle not to surrender to…


Rolfe, a conquerer and a barbarian is ordered to take the Lady Alice as his wife and be the ruler over Castle Aelfgar, by his king. But when he first comes to the Castle Aelfgar he is stunned by Ceirdre, Alice’s step sisters. With her beauty alone, is temptation enough for him, and refuses to give this beauty that he has found, up just because he knows he needs to marry her sister. But as time draws even nearer to the wedding, he starts to realize how much he is beginning to care for her, and how much he loves her and that he would risk betraying his own king to have her in his life and keep her for all time…

My Thoughts
The Conquerer is the first in the de Warenne series that is written by Brenda Joyce. At first the story starts out with the bonding between the two, Rolfe and Ceirdre is purely of a sexual nature, but as passion inflames them, there is a tender and powerful love that slowly builds throughout the whole story. The characters are deeply portrayed and teh story plot is engaging. I truly enjoyed reading this book, it was filled with so many aspects that I enjoy when reading Medieval romances, and seemed very vivid in detail. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series, as I have truly enjoyed reading each and everyone of Brenda Joyce’s novels, may they only get better!!! A truly remarkable read!!!

My Grade On This Book
4 Blossoms

Other Books In The Series
Scandalous Love
Promise of the Rose
The Game
The Prize
The Masquerade
The Stolen Bride
A Lady at Last
The Perfect Bride
A Dangerous Love
The Promise
An Impossible Attraction
House of Dreams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s