Historical Romance 101: Recommendations for Beginners

Historical Romance 101

Welcome everyone!! So today is something really special. So Quinn. and Anna and along with Jennifer, have some great recommendations today.  What we have planned for you is if you are starting to get interest in historical romance, here are some great recommendations to start with. These will slowly get you entrenched into it. These are specifically engineered for those that are new to the genre, but if you have read Historical Romance and looking for something new to read then step on up and grab on of these. (Side note: I know this is quite a few, but I had so many I wanted to recommend, and quite frankly it was damn hard narrowing the list down, and what I have here is something to suit anyone’s taste or mood.) So Enjoy!!

Have you of you read any of these? Or books by these authors? What did you think? 

Guilty Pleasure by Laura Lee Guhrke

Guilty Pleasures

Why Guilty Pleasures? Guilty Pleasures is a story that made me fall in love with this author. What we have in this story is where we deal with a story that takes place in the 1800’s, both characters involved in excavation and discovering new treasures. The heroine works for her employer, and despite her attraction to him, he doesn’t notice her, but slowly we see a strong attraction form. I loved the sparks and the building up of the characters. This is a fun and sexy read that will curl your toes.

Lover Be Mine by Nicole Jordan

Lover Be MineThis is a story that has many similar aspects to Shakespeare’s play “Romeo and Juliet” and one of the best love stories that is based on that play…and what is even better, it has a happy ending. YAY!! Nothing better than a story with characters that are divided by family loyalty. This author is stunning and when I read this I remember thinking I wish I had read it when I was first reading romance novels.

Tender Rebel by Johanna Lindsey

Tender RebelTender Rebel is part of the infamous Malory Family series. This is one of my favorite couples, the heroine is a feisty Scot, and the hero a devilish rogue. They tend to banter like an old married couple, and the misunderstanding they have, is so hilarious, but their story is passionate and powerful. I love these two, and I know you will as well.

Rules of Engagement

Rules Of Engagement-ExtendedRules of an Engagement is a flirty and carefree romance, that is one of the best book from Suzanne Enoch. Its perfect for if you just starting to read historical romance. this story is filled with a passionate heroine who likes to break the rules, and a hero to die for.

The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie

The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenziethis is one of the best of Jennifer Ashley’s book. It involves a hero that was forced to go to a mental hospital, and many believe him to be mad, he just thinks differently, but his character makes this book amazing. This is a story to warm your heart and make you laugh.

A Dangerous Love by Sabrina Jeffries

A Dangerous Love-JeffriesA Dangerous Love is one of the earlier books from Sabrina Jeffries, but this series is one of her best, and this story is a great way to get started into historical romance. This is a story of mixed identities, and where we see a love of shakespeare…and some witty comebacks between the couple.

How To Marry A Marquis by Julia Quinn

How To Marry A MarquisHow To Marry A Marquis is a charming story, deals with a bit of espionage, and its a very quick read, and the connection between the characters is very warm and sensual. A must read if you want to read historical romance or just stepping your toes into the genre.

The Chief by Monica McCarty

The ChiefThe Chief is the first in a Highlander romance that is stunning in its attention to historic detail. This is the first in the series, and deals with issues of the time, it is set in the Medieval time period, a time of Robert the Bruce, where we see true historic facts, and the spirit and passion of the time and a people wanting freedom, but the romance is delicious and will get you hooked on Highlander romances.

10. The Bride by Julie Garwood

The Bride

The Bride is a truly magnificent story, one of the first medieval highlander romances I ever read, and to this day still leaves a impression on me. This has the brogue, and the culture of highland clans, with a mixture of passion and intrigue.

Texas Destiny by Lorraine Heath

Texas DestinyThis is a story that is a western, takes place in texas, where the heroine is meeting her husband, and wrote letters. And his brother comes to drive her, which takes a few days and along the way she falls in love with the wrong brother. This is a charming and endearing story that makes you feel like you are falling in love all over again.

My Favorite Bride by Christina Dodd

My Favorite BrideMy Favorite Bride is a wonderful governess romance, but she also has to deal with seven little hellions…who just win your heart too. The heroine is fantastic.

The Maiden Warrior

The Maiden Warrior

This is a story set in the Medieval time period, and is a beautiful story of fighting for independence and freedom and the heroine is the leader of a people wanting that. Truly wonderful and a great read for any romance lover.

The Marriage Bed by Laura Lee Guhrke

The Marriage Bed

This is a tale that deals with a estranged marriage, with multiple misunderstandings, mistakes made on both sides, and a fully satisfying romance to curl your toes.

The Duchess Hunt by Jennifer Haymore

The Duchess HuntThe Duchess Hunt is a great romance from Haymore. This is a bit of a forbidden romance between two people who belong to different classes…one is a Duke and the other a maid. But Haymore is a talented storyteller. This is fun and a sweet romance.

Seven Nights In a Rogue’s Bed by Anna Campbell

Seven Nights in a Rogue's Bed

This was one of my first books by this author, and I still love going back and reading it again. It has a “beauty and the beast” fairy tale theme to it, but the author does a great job of having a story that pulls your right in.

The Devil In Disguise by Stefanie Sloane

The Devil In Disguise

This is the first book in a series, that is slightly shorter, just barely 300 pages. Most books I have listed here are around 380-400, but its a engaging and light regency romance.

Sins of a Ruthless Rogue by Anna Randol

Sins Of A Ruthless Rogue

This is a story that has intrigue and mystery and some suspenseful elements, but the romance is solid, tender and passionate. I still remember how much I adored this story, and I loved seeing how this story unraveled.

Seduction and Scandal by Charlotte Featherstone

Seduction and Scandal

If I had to pick a good series to start with, I would highly recommend this one. I found this author only a couple of years ago, but ever since I just can’t get enough of her. This story has a bit of a paranormal element, but isn’t super strong, the focus of course is the love story, but we see quite a bit of conflict involved that keeps you on edge…and what a story.

When You Give A Duke A Diamond by Shana Galen

When You Give A Duke A DiamondThis is a story that has plenty of scandal, mystery, romance, the characters are delightful and from the first I was captivated by the writing, this author is phenomenal and this is one of my favorites from her.

6 thoughts on “Historical Romance 101: Recommendations for Beginners

  1. I adore How to Marry a Marquis and The Bride. They are both major favorites of mine and I’ve read each a zillion times. But I confess that I haven’t read any others. Shame on me. I need to start fixing that. Great recs, Renee.

    Like

  2. Thanks you so very much for all these recommendations ! The madness of lord Ian MacKenzie is slow moving up my list, I should be reading it soon. This historical romance 101 is so very fortunate for me, the very year I’ve decided to really get into historicals 🙂

    Like

  3. I love your list, Renee. It’s interesting that for all my love of historical romance, I’ve only read Shana Galen’s books from your list. I see several that are on my wish list, but a few that I didn’t know about which makes it fun.

    Like

  4. So many awesome recs! I love Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie, When You Give a Duke a Diamond, How to Marry a Marquis, Guilty Pleasures, and Texas Destiny. I’ve never read a Sophie Jordan book so I may start with Lover Be Mine. Love that I am just making my wishlist bigger with this event.

    Like

Leave a Reply

