Tag Archive | Ellie Macdonald

Short Book Review-The Governess Club:Bonnie by Ellie MacDonald

Title: The Governess Club: Bonnie
Author: Ellie Macdonald 
Series: Governess Club 
Format: E Book 
Publisher: Avon 
Release Date: September 17 2013 
Pages: 192 
Acquired: Self Bought (B&N)
Genre: Regency Historical Romance 
ISBN: 9780062292247

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Miss Bonnie Hodges, governess to the Darrow family, is desperately trying to hold it together. Tragedy has struck, and she is the sole person left to be strong for the two little boys in her care. When the new guardian arrives, she hopes that things will get better. She wasn’t expecting her new employer to be the most frustrating, overbearing, and…handsome man she’s ever seen.

Sir Stephen Montgomery is utterly distracted. He should be trying to figure out how his two best friends were killed in a suspicious accident and why the new young viscount seems destined to be the next victim. But he can’t concentrate on anything but his growing infatuation with the beautiful, mysterious, and utterly captivating governess.

Together they’re doing their best to save the two boys, but will Stephen’s feelings for Bonnie get in the way of their search for a killer?

My Review

This is the second book of the series, and I have enjoyed this series…its has been jolly good fun. I adore governess romances, and this one was quite entertaining and had a aspect of mystery mixed in with the story that added a sense of intrigue and suspense. The story is about a governess, who is over two little boys, whose parents have died in a horrible accident, and their guardian is Sir Stephen Montgomery. Stephen was the father’s best friend, and is now guardian over two boys and learning about the death of his two closest friends. When certain events lead him to think that his friends death was no accident, and that there is foul play around them, involving poison and cut saddles, he has no choice but to use every knowledge he has to find the culprit, and meanwhile he is drawn to the governess: Bonnie. A woman of poise and a sweet nature.

One thing that I really liked about this installment, was the connection that we see between Bonnie and Stephen…they definitely have some sparks flying around them, but I also enjoyed the aspect of her connection to the two little boys, the romance was steady and slow and we see quite a deep development on the emotional with a balance of the physical portion of their relationship. It was quite a ride, seeing Bonnie’s spunky nature and Stephen’s rakish behavior clash and merge together.  I also felt like that the way that this author builds this story up, with the development of characters and the story line, we have a love story that is bound to pull at your heartstrings. ENDEARING!!

Favorite Quotes

“I don’t understand it, sir” Henry continued “How can a girl not like horses? Or frogs. I tried to give Elizabeth Talbot my pet frog and all she did was scream and run away?”
“Henry, the first thing you need to know about women is that they are not mean”
“What does that mean?”
“It means that men will be men and ladies will be ladies. They like different things than us and we will never understand the appeal of thing they like.”
“And they don’t like frogs or hoses?”
“They like flowers and ribbons and teas and dances and pretty words. Men like horses and frogs and boxing mills and Scotch. We give ladies the flowers, ribbons, and pretty words because that’s the only way we can get them to like us.”
——————————————————————————————————————————————–
Stephen stood, straightened his coat, and handed his hat for her to hold. “About what we were speaking a few moments ago? There is something I want you to be aware of.”
“There’s more?” Her voice full of dismay and distress.
He looked at her intently, leaning towards her to rest his hands on the back of the bench, boxing her in between his arms. He put his mouth next to her ear. ” I disagree that we would be disastrous.”
———————————————————————————————————————————————
“I am a simple man, Bonnie lass. I have never learned the intricacies of relationships with the fairer sex. I cannot give you romance, I cannot give you pretty words. I will try, if that is what you desire, bit it is not my forte. But I can give you a home, ensure you have enough food and clothing and coal for the winter, and will do the same for our children. I can give you my respect, my fidelity, and my devotion; I firmly believe in marriage vows and will not stray from my wife.
“For what is is worth, I do love you. I am not entirely sure what that means, but I cannot explain how I felt when you left. I do not have the words. I want you, Bonnie lass, I want you in my life in every possibly way I can imagine. My soul aches to have you in my life. ”

My Rating

4 Blossoms

Heat Level

Warm

Series Order
Claire (1)
Bonnie (2)
Sara (3)
Louisa (4)

ARC Book Review-The Governess Club: Louisa by Ellie Macdonald

The Governess Club: Louisa
Governess Club (4)
Ellie Macdonald
Avon Books
E Book
Acquired: Edelweiss
Published October 2014
Regency Historical Romance
ISBN: 9780062292285
Authors Website 

Synopsis
For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle.

Louisa Brockhurst is on the run—from her friends, from her family, even from her dream of independence through the Governess Club. But sometimes it’s easier for her to hide from those she loves in order to escape the secrets of her past.

Handsome but menacing John Taylor is a prizefighter-turned-innkeeper who is trying to make his way in society. When Louisa shows up at his doorstep, he’s quick to accept her offer to help—at a price. He knows that she’s hiding something, and he can’t help his protective instincts toward the beautiful woman.

Their attraction grows, but will headstrong, fiery Louisa ever trust the surprisingly kind John enough to tell him the dangerous secrets from her past that keep her running? Or will the power of her feelings scare her into running yet again?

My Review

Louisa Brockhurst is on the run, every time her past comes closer to haunt her, she leaves. So she abandons her closest friends, and decide to make a fresh start, and she finds herself at a local inn asking John Taylor for a job . John Taylor, is a retired prizefighter, who has built this inn from the ground up and is proud in his establishment, but he knows it needs work. When he sees Louisa walk into his place, and asking for a job, he knows she is the answer to his prayers. He needs someone to help care for inn, and even though she isn’t very adept as a maid, he sees a passion and fire within her that he can’t wait to ignite. As John and Louisa get a comfortable routine going on, they know that there is a dangerous desire building between them. And just when Louisa starts getting comfortable, fate gets her say, and her past comes back to haunt her, but will she be able to face her past with John at her side or will she go on the run again and leave the one man that holds her heart?

Louisa is the fourth installment of the Governess Club. In the previous books we have seen a sisterhood of these four women, and Louisa is the one that I least understood. After, recently having read Sara I was very intrigued by how Louisa’s story would go. I will be honest, I had a hard time with Louisa as a character. She isn’t easy to like, she has a very harsh side and can be a bit demeaning to others, I couldn’t really connect with her much at least until the end. Now the hero of the story: John, well I adored him. He was way too good for Louisa. He was a good sport, and had such patience and understanding with Louisa, and he is the type of hero that is good for Louisa. He isn’t afraid to show his true feelings toward Louisa, and is willing to fight for her and fight with her to gain her trust and respect. He is tough and resilient and his character just appealed to me so much. I think it was the way he held himself and the way he was with Louisa, who made me want to wring her neck. She tended to get on my nerves, but John, as a character has a calming effect on the reader, and made it worth the read. I will say I did eventually like Louisa, but not till the very end.

I really liked the way this story was formed though, the plot was well built up and I felt like it had a solid foundation. Even though I had issues with the heroine, I really liked everything else about the story. It had some interesting scenes that take place, that keep you entrenched in the story. I liked seeing how this series wraps up in the end, and you might need a few tissues for the ending!! A HEARTWARMING ROMANCE!!

My Grade 
3.5 Blossoms

Heat Rating 
Steamy

Other Books In Series 
Claire
Bonnie
Sara

Short ARC Book Review-Governess Club: Sara by Ellie MacDonald

Governess Club: Sara
The Governess Club (3)
Ellie Macdonald
Avon Books
E Book
Published September 2014
Acquired: Edelweiss
200 Pages
Regency Historical Romance
ISBN:  9780062292261
Authors Website

Synopsis 
For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle.

Sweet Sara Collins is one of the founding members of the Governess Club. But she has a secret: She doesn’t love teaching. She’d much prefer to be a vicar’s wife and help the local community. But this quiet mouse doesn’t want to upset her friends, and she resolves to help in whatever ways she can.

Nathan Grant is the embodiment of everything that frightens Sara. Which is why she can’t understand why the handsome but reclusive and gruff man is so fascinating to her. When Sara decides it’s time to take a chance and experience all that life has to offer, Nathan is the first person she thinks of.

Will Sara’s walk on the wild side ruin her chances at a simple, happy life? Or has she just opened the door to a once-in-a-lifetime chance at passion?

My Review

I Received a ARC copy in exchange for a honest review. 

Sara Collins, is one of the founding members of the Governess Club. Sara is shy and reserved. She hates teaching but will do whatever she can to help her friends. Sara grew up with a mother that practically forced her into being the shy woman she is now. Recently she has started to have interest in the new pastor, but while out on visits she meets Nathan Grant. Nathan is a politician and has come from London to find solitude and quiet, until he meets Sara. Nathan sees Sara as a a woman that is just wanting to burst free of passion, and he is more than willing to draw that side of her out. Sara doesn’t know why she is drawn to this gruff and overbearing man, but he makes her want to have adventure and not be the shy woman that she hates being now. She just wants to take a little walk on the wild side, but it could cost her everything, even the man she has come to love.

Sara is the third book and I just flew through this one. In fact I was shocked by how much I enjoyed this one. I am starting to really love this new author to Avon Books.I do enjoy governess romances, and I loved the way this story turned out. I felt a kinship with Sara, she is super shy and practically afraid of her shadow but as you get more in the story, you see her inner strength, and you start to get a glimpse of her childhood, and you start to find yourself endeared to her. She definitely will surprise you, she has a deep sense of adventure and passion and I enjoyed seeing it brought out in the least expected times. Nathan Grant is my ideal hero. Even though he has that Alpha personality, you see what a great match he is for Sara. It was fun seeing how he draws her out from her shell and in creative ways too.

I found this story to be lovely and romantic, the type of story that captures your heart from page one. With entertaining scenes, enticing characters, and a plot that is pure romantic fun!!

My Grade 
5 Blossoms

Heat Rating
Warm

Other Books In Series 
Claire
Bonnie
Louisa (October 2014 )